ABRSM Violin Mix Book 1 (Grades Initial to 1)

Out of stock

Violin Mix is an original series of new arrangements for violin. Book 1 offers attractive repertoire at Grades Initial to 1 in a wide variety of styles. Well-known music includes ‘Autumn’ from The Four Seasons and ‘Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious’ from Mary Poppins. There are also lots of new tunes to be explored, such as ‘Gavotta’ by Ignatius Sancho and the traditional American song ‘Let us chase the squirrel’. 


The series has been compiled by string specialists Kathy and David Blackwell and covers the musical and technical elements of the early grades in three progressive volumes. Many of the arrangements are featured on the ABRSM Violin syllabus from 2024 and, in addition, all are ideal choices for Performance Grade exams. There are piano accompaniments for every piece, and violin accompaniments and guitar chords for many pieces, providing useful flexibility for students and teachers. 


Key features:

  • New arrangements of repertoire spanning many cultures and styles, in three progressive volumes
  • Accompaniments for piano, violin and guitar
  • A rich source of repertoire for a concert or exam
  • Many of the pieces are featured on the ABRSM Violin syllabus from 2024
  • An interesting footnote and fun fact for every piece


More Information
Product Code9781786015839

Initial Grade

  • La Bergamasca - Anon. 16th century
  • Autumn (from The Four Seasons, Op. 8) - Antonio Vivaldi 
  • Let us chase the squirrel - Trad. American 
  • One little candle - Trad. Jewish
  • I am a fine musician - Trad. German 
  • The bear is sleeping - Trad. Swedish 
  • Boat Song Lullaby - Trad. Chinese 
  • Dumplings - Trad. Jamaican (arr. Nikki Iles)


  • Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (from Mary Poppins) - Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman
  • High Road to Linton - Trad. Scottish
  • Melody by Mozart (from Violin Sonata K. 302) - W. A. Mozart
  • Gavotta - Ignatius Sancho
  • The pine tree was burning - Trad. Ukrainian (arr. Ros Stephen and David Blackwell)
  • The Great Gate of Kyiv (from Pictures at an Exhibition) - Modest Musorgsky
  • Agincourt Song - Anon. English 15th century
  • Royal March of the Lion (from The Carnival of the Animals) - Camille Saint-Saëns
  • Rigaudon (from Pièces de clavecin, Book 2) - Elisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre
  • Jacob’s Ladder - Trad. English
  • Chevalier’s Rondeau (from String Quartet Op. 1 No. 3) - Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges


Products showing as "In Stock" above can be ordered for delivery or Click & Collect.

We aim to dispatch the majority of orders on the next working weekday. (See "Special Order" details below)

For more information on Click & Collect, please click here...

Special Order

Products showing the "Special Order" badge are not normally kept in our store.  They are ordered from our suppliers, either for deivery direct to you, or to come via our store.

We would recommend allowing 3 to 5 days for delivery of "Special Offer" products.

In-Store Availability

With such a vast range we are unable to keep every item on display in our shop, so please contact us if there is a particular item you would like to try.

If you would like to ask any questions about this product then please contact us for assistance.

Copyright © 2019 J.G. Windows Ltd