- +
Availability:In stock
Only 1 left
SKU 0816651019403

"I've finally taken it all the way, and at this late date the album now moves me. I can feel it rather than just feel frustration about it. The emotions in it are largely fear and desperation and longing, but that's life, and can even have some kind of majesty." - Richard Hell

Destiny Street was the follow-up album to one of the greatest punk albums of all time, 1977's Blank Generation. The album was originally recorded in 1981 and released in 1982, but not to Richard Hell's satisfaction. As he says in his new liner notes to Destiny Street Remixed, "The final mix was a morass of trebly multi-guitar sludge."

Now, for the 40th anniversary of its creation, the album is at last presented the way Richard Hell originally intended, "The sound of a little combo playing real gone rock and roll."

Richard Hell co-founded his first band, the Neon Boys, with Tom Verlaine in 1973. That band became Television. When Hell left Television in 1975, he formed, with Johnny Thunders and Jerry Nolan, both formerly of the New York Dolls, the Heartbreakers. After another year, Richard departed the Heartbreakers and created Richard Hell and the Voidoids, which group, along with other CBGB bands of the era, such as the Ramones and Patti Smith, formed the template for punk, the effects of which are still being felt. Apart from Hell on vocals and bass, the original Voidoids comprised Robert Quine (guitar), Ivan Julian (guitar), and Marc Bell (eventually "Marky Ramone"). The Destiny Streetera band retained Quine, but otherwise the backing line-up became Naux (Juan Maciel) on guitar and Fred Maher on drums.

Richard had wished forever that he could remix the original Destiny Street, but was told by the record company that the original 24-track masters had been lost. In the early 2000s, Hell discovered a cassette from 1981 that contained just the album's rhythm tracks (drums, bass and two rhythm guitars) and he realized he could add new guitar solos and vocals to that to obtain a cleaner, improved version of the songs.

Track List

CD 1:
1. The Kid With the Replaceable Head (Destiny Street )
2. I Gotta Move (Destiny Street)
3. Going Going Gone (Destiny Street)
4. Lowest Common Dominator (Destiny Street)
5. Downtown at Dawn (Destiny Street)
6. Time (Destiny Street)
7. I Can Only Give You Everything (Destiny Street)
8. Ignore That Door (Destiny Street)
9. Staring in Her Eyes (Destiny Street)
10. Destiny Street (Destiny Street)
11. The Kid With the Replaceable Head (Destiny Street Repaired)
12. I Gotta Move (Destiny Street Repaired)
13. Going Going Gone (Destiny Street Repaired)
14. Lowest Common Dominator (Destiny Street Repaired)
15. Downtown at Dawn (Destiny Street Repaired)
16. Time (Destiny Street Repaired)
17. I Can Only Give You Everything (Destiny Street Repaired)
18. Ignore That Door (Destiny Street Repaired)
19. Staring in Her Eyes (Destiny Street Repaired)
20. Destiny Street (Destiny Street Repaired)

CD 2:
1. The Kid With the Replaceable Head (Destiny Street Remixed)
2. I Gotta Move (Destiny Street Remixed)
3. Going Going Gone (Destiny Street Remixed)
4. Lowest Common Dominator (Destiny Street Remixed)
5. Downtown at Dawn (Destiny Street Remixed)
6. Time (Destiny Street Remixed)
7. I Can Only Give You Everything (Destiny Street Remixed)
8. Ignore That Door (Destiny Street Remixed)
9. Staring in Her Eyes (Destiny Street Remixed)
10. Destiny Street (Destiny Street Remixed)
11. Don't Die (Destiny Street Remixed)
12. The Kid With the Replaceable Head (Destiny Street Demos)
13. I'm Your Man (Destiny Street Demos)
14. Crack Of Dawn (Destiny Street Demos)
15. Going Going Gone (Destiny Street Demos)
16. Funhunt (Destiny Street Demos)
17. I Lived My Life (Destiny Street Demos)
18. Ignore That Door (Destiny Street Demos)
19. Smitten (Destiny Street Demos)
20. Staring in Her Eyes (Destiny Street Demos)
21. Time (Destiny Street Demos)
22. Don't Die (Destiny Street Demos)
23. Time (Destiny Street Demos)

More Info
More Information
Product CodeOVCD410

Products showing as "In Stock" above can be ordered for delivery or Click & Collect.

If you would prefer to visit our Newcastle or Metrocentre stores, then please Contact Us to check availability, as with such a vast range we are unable to keep every item on display in our shops.