Out of stock
Compact Disc
35 tracks and just one name: Johann Sebastian Bach. Icelandic pianist Víkingur Ólafsson continues his successful recording career with a collection of well and lesser known pieces by the famous baroque composer.The selection includes reworks by Bach himself of composers such as Vivaldi and Marcello, and Busoni and transcriptions/reworks of chorales by Víkingur Ólafsson himself.Víkingur Ólafsson's interpretations of the baroque repertoire are crystal clear, modern and hauntingly beautiful. In his very own style Víkingur perfectly captures Bach as a master of balance whose music is the ideal combination of emotion and intellect, singing melody and sculpted counterpoint.
More Information
Product Code4835022

 1. Prelude & Fughetta in G Major, BWV 902 - Prelude
 2. Chorale Prelude, BWV 734 "Nun freut euch, lieben Christen        g'mein" (Transcr. by W. Kempff)
 3. 04 Prelude and Fugue in E minor, BWV 855 (Well-Tempered      Clavier, Book I, No. 10)
 4. Organ Sonata in E minor, BWV 528 - Andante [Adagio]    (Transcr. by August Stradal)
 5. 07 Prelude and Fugue in D major, BWV 850 (Well-Tempered    Clavier, Book I, No. 5)
 6. Chorale Prelude, BWV 659 "Nun komm der Heiden Heiland   (Transcr. by Ferruccio Busoni)
 7. 10 Prelude and Fugue in C minor, BWV 847 (Well-Tempered    Clavier, Book I, No. 2)
 8. Widerstehe doch der Sünde, BWV 54 - Aria (Transcr. by    Víkingur Ólafsson)
 9. Aria Variata in A minor, BWV 989 - Aria
 10. 22 Aria Variata in A minor, BWV 989 - Variations 1 - 10
 11. Aria Variata in A minor, BWV 989 - Aria da capo
 12. Invention No. 12 in A major, BWV 783
 13. Sinfonia No. 12 in A major, BWV 798
 14. Partita No. 3 for Violin Solo in E major, BWV 1006 - Gavotte   (Transcr. by Sergei Rachmaninov)
 15. Prelude and Fugue in E minor, BWV 855a - Prelude (Transc. in    B minor by Alexander Siloti)
 16. Sinfonia No. 15 in B minor, BWV 801
 17. Invention No. 15 in B minor, BWV 786
 18. 32 Cembalo Concerto in D minor, BWV 974
 19. Chorale Prelude, BWV 639 "Ich ruf zu dir Herr Jesu Christ"    (Transc. by Ferruccio Busoni)
 20. 35 Fantasia and Fugue in A minor, BWV 904

Products showing as "In Stock" above can be ordered for delivery or Click & Collect.

If you would prefer to visit our Newcastle or Metrocentre stores, then please Contact Us to check availability, as with such a vast range we are unable to keep every item on display in our shops.

Copyright © 2019 J.G. Windows Ltd