12 inch Vinyl Record
- +
Availability:In stock
Only 1 left
SKU 0889854494315

One of the most ground-breaking albums all time, Jeff Wayne’s Musical Version of The War of the Worlds was originally released in 1978, and has since enjoyed huge success and critical acclaim across the globe. The masterpiece remains a firm favourite to millions around the world, having sold over 15.5 million records, and spending 260 consecutive weeks in the UK album charts on initial release. It achieved two international hit singles - 'Forever Autumn' and 'The Eve of The War', and has been Top 10 in 22 countries (#1 in 11 of them.) The album also won two prestigious UK Ivor Novello Awards, the US Best Recording in Science Fiction and Fantasy (for which the judges included Alfred Hitchcock, George Lucas and Steven Spielberg), as well as Classic Rock's 'Showman of The Year' Award for Jeff Wayne himself. It has grown into a true classic, acquiring new generations of devoted followers since its original release, and spawning further audio re-imaginings, plus film, TV, theatre, and immersive VR adaptations. This reissue of the original double 12’’ vinyl album is stunningly remastered for a superior sounding audio experience, and also includes the original double gatefold with 16-page booklet containing the full script, lyrics, original paintings, and credits.

Track List

Disc: 1
1. The Eve of the War - Jeff Wayne feat. Richard Burton and Justin Hayward
2. Horsell Common and the Heat Ray - Jeff Wayne & Richard Burton

Disc: 2
1. The Artilleryman and the Fighting Machine - Jeff Wayne
2. Forever Autumn - Jeff Wayne, Richard Burton and Justin Hayward
3. Thunder Child - Jeff Wayne, Richard Burton and Chris Thompson

Disc: 3
1. The Red Weed (Part 1) - Jeff Wayne & Richard Burton
2. The Spirit of Man - Jeff Wayne, Richard Burton, Phil Lynott & Julie Covington
3. The Red Weed (Part 2) - Jeff Wayne & Richard Burton
4. The Artilleryman Returns - Jeff Wayne

Disc: 4
1. Brave New World - Jeff Wayne, Richard Burton and David Essex
2. Dead London - Jeff Wayne & Richard Burton
3. Dead London - Jeff Wayne / Richard Burton
4. Epilogue, Pt. 1 - Jeff Wayne & Richard Burton
5. Epilogue, Pt. 2 (NASA) - Jeff Wayne

More Info
More Information
Product Code88985449431
Format12" Vinyl

Products showing as "In Stock" above can be ordered for delivery or Click & Collect.

If you would prefer to visit our Newcastle or Metrocentre stores, then please Contact Us to check availability, as with such a vast range we are unable to keep every item on display in our shops.