Out of stock

Riccardo Chailly in Leipzig - a must-have for all Chailly fans. Including Riccardo Chailly’s legendary inaugural concert as Kapellmeister in Leipzig. Capturing the atmosphere of a unique musical occasion, the concert is a real Mendelssohn-feast played by the orchestra founded by this very composer. Beautiful romantic repertoire (Mendelssohn, Schumann) combined with stellar soloists. Featuring Martha Argerich playing Schumann’s Piano Concerto.

The DVD set includes the Petite Messe Solennelle by Rossini and a colourful staging of Verdi’s Un ballo in maschera from the Leipzig Opera. Stage director Ermanno Olmi is best known for his exceptional work in Italian cinema. His films (The Legend of the Holy Drinker, The Tree of Wooden Clogs) possess a profound beauty rarely seen in contemporary film.




DVD 1 (113 mins)

Inauguration Concert

Mendelssohn - Overture to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” • Symphony No. 2 “Lobgesang”

Rihm - Verwandlung 2 (world premiere)

  • Gewandhausorchester Leipzig • GewandhausChor • Chor der Oper Leipzig
  • Anne Schwanenwilms (soprano) • Petra-Maria Schnitzer (soprano • Peter Seifert (tenor)

Live from the Gewandhaus Leipzig, 2 September 2005, directed by Michael Beyer


DVD 2 (93 mins)


Piano Concerto in A minor, op.54

Symphony No.4 in D minor, op.120

  • Martha Argerich (piano)
  • Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Live from the Gewandhaus Leipzig, 1-2 June 2006, directed by Michael Beyer


DVD 3 (85 mins)

Rossini - Le Petite Messe Solennelle

  • Gewandhausorchester Leipzig • GewandhausChor • Chor der Oper Leipzig
  • Alexandrina Pendatchanska (soprano) • Manuela Custer (alto) • Stefano Secco (tenor) • Mirco Palazzi (bass)

Live from the Gewandhaus Leipzig, 6-7 November 2008, directed by Michael Beyer


DVD 4 (137 mins)

Verdi - Un ballo in maschera

  • Gewandhausorchester Leipzig • Leipziger Ballett • Chor der Oper Leipzig
  • Massimiliano Pisapia • Franco Vassallo • Chiara Taigi • Anna Maria Chiuri • Eun Yee You
  • Live from the Leipzig Opera, 23 & 26 November 2006, directed by Don Kent


Picture: 16:9 – NTSC

Sound: PCM Stereo, DD 5.1, DTS 5.1

Region code: 0 (worldwide)

Language/subtitles: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian

Running time: 428 min

Production years: 2005, 2006, 2008

More Information
Product Code2064408

Products showing as "In Stock" above can be ordered for delivery or Click & Collect.

If you would prefer to visit our Newcastle or Metrocentre stores, then please Contact Us to check availability, as with such a vast range we are unable to keep every item on display in our shops.

Copyright © 2019 J.G. Windows Ltd